Climate ARTivists wanted!

Climate ARTivists

The environmental impact of art is still largely a blind spot. In addition to artistic engagement with the crisis itself, cultural institutions as well as cultural workers and artists are increasingly looking for instruments and methods to align their own actions in a comprehensible and effective way with the goals of environmental sustainability. But how can we start? Where are we? What are the key levers that need to be moved as quickly as possible? What partnerships are needed to gain and activate shared knowledge and actions?

 

Löwenbräukunst is a partner of Clima Now in their second call for Clima Now Spotlight 2022 under the title “Rethinking the impact of art: climate activists wanted!” (climanow.ch/en/spotlight).

lowenbraukunst www.climanow.ch
Art and climate


Clima Now's goal is to support projects that reduce emissions and remove greenhouse gases from the air - always in the context of social and political change, without which we cannot combat the climate crisis. Art has been and continues to be an important lever in driving this change. It can hold up a mirror to reality, touch people and foster positive social change. 

Clima Now Spotlight

Many people with strong climate ideas do not have a stage. We bring them into the spotlight with our Spotlight event and offer them this stage. After the successful first edition in 2021, the Clima Now Spotlight competition is going into the next round. This year's partner is Löwenbräukunst, which supports Clima Now with its expertise in the art sector. 
The competition is divided into three phases: After the registration phase, the expert jury will select the most promising projects, which will then be presented on the Clima Now website for the public voting (September 3-17, 2022). The public will select the finalists, who will be able to present themselves and their projects to an audience at the Pitch Night in Zurich on October 6, 2022. The winners will then be selected by the jury of experts. 
More information: https://climanow.ch/de/spotlight/

 

The prize

This year, a total of 175’000 Swiss francs will be distributed to the winners' art projects. The final prize amount depends on the needs of the individual projects and starts at 15'000 CHF. In addition, a special prize of 15’000 CHF will be awarded by the public - completely independent of the jury's evaluation. In addition, the winners will take part in a nine-month support program run by One Planet Lab and Impact Hub Zurich. 

 

The participants


We are looking for projects that address the issue of art's impact on the climate in terms of content (thematic) or form (working methods, production methods, etc.), develop solutions to climate change, and involve a community.  This means the projects must be publicly accessible and go beyond just looking or listening. Projects should either be created in dialogue with the community, involve the community in the making, and/or ensure active participation after completion. At the time of entry, the project must not have been realized or published. The projects must be realized by the Long Night of Zurich Museums 2023. 

 

About Clima Now

The Clima Now Foundation, founded in 2021, has set itself the goal of actively combating the climate crisis. Therefore, Clima Now supports projects from three impact areas: Reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, absorption of greenhouse gases as well as projects that initiate social and political change towards more climate protection. 

More information: www.climanow.ch

About Clima Now

The Clima Now Foundation, founded in 2021, has set itself the goal of actively combating the climate crisis. Therefore, Clima Now supports projects from three impact areas: Reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, absorption of greenhouse gases as well as projects that initiate social and political change towards more climate protection. 

More information: www.climanow.ch

Clima Now - Spotlight

Clima Now Spotlight 2022: Rethinking the impact of art - Climate ARTivists wanted!

 

Die Klimawirkung der Kunst ist noch weitgehend ein blinder Fleck. Neben der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Krise selbst suchen Kulturinstitutionen ebenso wie Kulturschaffende und Künstlerinnen vermehrt nach Instrumenten und Methoden, um das eigene Handeln in nachvollziehbarer und wirksamer Weise an Zielen der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit auszurichten. Aber wie beginnen? Wo stehen wir? Was sind die entscheidenden Hebel, die es schnellstmöglich zu bewegen gilt? Welche Partnerschaften sind nötig, um gemeinsames Wissen und Aktionen zu gewinnen und zu aktivieren.

 

Die Löwenbräukunst ist Partner von Clima Now bei ihrem zweiten Aufruf zu Clima Now Spotlight 2022 mit dem Titel «Rethinking the impact of art – climate activists wanted!» (https://climanow.ch/de/spotlight/).

lowenbraukunst www.climanow.ch
Wettbewerb

Die junge Stiftung Clima Now geht mit dem Wettbwerb Clima Now Spotlight in die zweite Runde. Dieses Mal steht alles im Zeichen von Kunst und Klima.

 

Die Anmeldung ist geöffnet bis zum 27.Juli 2022

 

  • Clima Now prämiert Kunstprojekte, die brennende Klimafragen beantworten und die Bevölkerung bewegen
  • Clima Now unterstützt Künstler*innen mit Projektförderung in Höhe von mindestens 15'000 CHF und einem neunmonatigen Support Programm
  • Die Gewinner*innen werden in einem mehrstufigen Prozess gemeinsam von de Öffentlichkeit und einer Fachjury gekürt
Kunst und Klima


Clima Now’s Ziel ist es, Projekte zu fördern, die Emissionen reduzieren und Treibhausgase aus der Luft entfernen – immer in Zusammenhang mit gesellschaftlichem und politischem Wandel, ohne den wir die Klimakrise nicht bekämpfen können. Die Kunst war und ist ein wichtiger Hebel, um diesen Wandel voranzutreiben. Sie kann der Wirklichkeit einen Spiegel vorhalten, Menschen berühren und positive soziale Veränderungen bewirken. 

Clima Now Spotlight


Viele Menschen mit starken Klima-Ideen haben keine Bühne. Wir bringen sie mit unserem Spotlight-Event ins Scheinwerferlicht und bieten ihnen eine Bühne. Nach der erfolgreichen Erstauflage in 2021 geht der Wettbewerb Clima Now Spotlight in die nächste Runde. Partner ist in diesem Jahr die Löwenbräukunst, die Clima Now mit ihrer Expertise im Kunstsektor unterstützen. 
Der Wettbewerb ist in drei Phasen gegliedert: Nach der Anmeldephase selektiert die Fachjury die vielversprechendsten Projekte, die dann zum Public Voting (3.-17. September 2022) auf der Website von Clima Now präsentiert werden. Die Öffentlichkeit wählt so die Finalist*innen, die sich und ihre Projekte auf der Pitch Night in Zürich, am 6. Oktober 2022, vor Publikum präsentieren dürfen. Die Sieger*innen werden dort wiederum von der Fachjury gekürt. 


Mehr Informationen: https://climanow.ch/de/spotlight/

Der Gewinn


In diesem Jahre werden insgesamt 175‘000 Franken an die Kunstprojekte der Gewinner*innen verteilt. Die finale Gewinnsumme richtet sich nach den Bedürfnissen der einzelnen Projekte und beginnt bei 15’000 CHF. Zudem wird ein Sonderpreis des Publikums – ganz unabhängig der Jurywertung – in Höhe von 15‘000 CHF vergeben. Zusätzlich nehmen die Gewinner*innen an einem neunmonatigen Supportprogramm teil, das von One Planet Lab und dem Impact Hub Zürich durchgeführt wird. 

Die Teilnehmer*innen


Gesucht werden Projekte, die sich inhaltlich (thematisch) oder formal (Arbeitsweise, Produktionsweise, etc.) mit dem Thema der Wirkung von Kunst auf das Klima auseinandersetzen, Lösungen gegen den Klimawandel entwickeln und eine Gemeinschaft miteinbeziehen.  Das bedeutet, die Projekte müssen öffentlich zugänglich sein und über eine reine Betrachtung oder reines Zuhören hinausgehen. Die Projekte sollen entweder im Dialog mit der Gemeinschaft entstehen, diese in die Herstellung miteinbeziehen und/oder die aktive Partizipation nach Fertigstellung sichern. Zum Zeitpunkt der Eingabe darf das Projekt weder realisiert noch veröffentlicht sein. Die Projekte müssen bis zur Langen Nacht der Zürcher Museen 2023 realisiert werden. 

Über Clima Now


Die 2021 gegründete Stiftung Clima Now hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, aktiv gegen die Klimakrise anzugehen. Darum unterstützt Clima Now Projekte aus drei Wirkungsbereichen: Reduktion von Treibhausgas-Emissionen, Absorption von Treibhausgasen sowie Projekte, welche den gesellschaftlichen und politischen Wandel hin zu mehr Klimaschutz anstossen. 

 

Mehr Informationen: www.climanow.ch