Memorable Memories

A Brief (Oral) History of the Löwenbräu 

In Celebration of its 25th Anniversary 

 

During nine months, from April to December 2021, weekly 60 second-clips will be published on the Instagram account of Löwenbräu-Kunst introducing 36 artists, directors, curators, critics, who have exhibited their art or simply built a relationship with it in the past 25 years, but also visitors who share personal memories representing two and a half decades of action. The goal is to create a short oral history of the place and related (forgotten) moments. 

Curated by Gianni Jetzer 

 

006 Peter Kilchmann

Next chapter in our oral history for #25yearslowenbrau. Peter Kilchmann was one of the founding galleries back in 1996 and eventually moved out in 2010 after having realized many successful shows in the former brewery. He was one of the first galleries to show Mexican artist Santiago Sierra in Europe. 

 

005 Daniel Baumann

Daniel Baumann, Director and Curator of the Kunsthalle Zürich since 2014 … Listen to his memories regarding #25yearslowenbrau way before he was at the helm of the prestigious institution.

 

004 Esther Eppstein

Her name: Esther Eppstein, Zurich’s alternative space queen. Her message salon was THE off space for years, now she is nomadic and therefore carries the title of an ambassador. Listen to the winner of the Meret Oppenheim 2021 whose seminal piece Caravan entered the collection of Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst.

 

003 Pipilotti Rist

Since her beginnings in the early 1980s Pipilotti Rist has taken the art world by storm making a name for herself with mesmerizing video installations. During her hugely successful solo show at Kunsthalle Zurich in 1999 people were queuing up in the staircase before opening hours. Enjoy her signature style anniversary message!

 

002 Carlos Amorales

Our next guest in the series Memorable Memories for 25 years Löwenbräu comes from Mexico City. His name: Carlos Amorales. He performed the Devil Dance at the Daros Collection in 2006, but also showed previously at the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst where his alter ego wrestler staged the artistic fight Amorales vs. Amorales. 

 

001 Olaf Breuning

Olaf Breuning is our first guest in the series Memorable Memories to commemmorate the 25th anniversary of Löwenbräu. 

Breuning, who had a solo show in 2007 at the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst lives in Kerhonkson, upstate New York.

Memorable Memories

Eine kurze (orale) Geschichte über das Löwenbräu 

 

Zur Feier des 25-jährigen Jubiläums

 

Während neun Monaten, von April bis Dezember 2021, werden auf Instagram 60 sekündige Videoclips publiziert, in welchen 36 Künstler*innen, Direktor*innen, Kurator*innen, Kritiker*innen sich selbst und ihre Beziehung zum Löwenbräu vorstellen. 

 

Das Ziel ist es eine kurze orale Geschichte über den Ort und den damit verbundenen (vergessenen) Momente herzustellen. 

 

Kuratiert von Gianni Jetzer.  

Memorable Memories 010

Fredi Fischli und Niels Olsen

 

Memorable Memories 009

mit Eva Presenhuber

Memorable Memories 008

with Artist Joep van Lieshout

 

007 Heike Munder

Heike Munder, seit 2001 Direktorin des Migros Museums für Gegenwartskunst. 

006 Peter Kilchmann

Peter Kilchmann war im Jahre 1996 einer der gründenden Galerien. Nach vielen erfolgreichen Shows im Löwenbräu zog die Galerie 2010 an die Rämistrasse um. Er war einer der ersten Galeristen, welcher den Künstler Santiago Sierra aus Mexiko in Europa zeigte. 

005 Daniel Baumann

Daniel Baumann, Direktor und Kurator der Kunsthalle Zürich seit 2014....Seine Geschichten und Erinnerungen über das Löwenbräu stammen in diesem Kurzclip aus einer Zeit bevor er an der Spitze der Institution war. 

004 Esther Eppstein

Ihr Name: Esther Eppstein, Zürichs alternative space queen. Ihr Offspace Message Salon war für Jahre der angesagteste Ort, jetzt ist sie nomadisch und trägt nun den Titel einer Botschafterin. 2021 wird sie Preisträgerin des Prix Meret Oppenheim und ihr wegweisendes Werk Caravan wird in der Sammlung des Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst aufgenommen. 

003 Pipilotti Rist

Seit ihrem Start in der Kunstzene in den frühen 1980er hat Pipilotti Rist mit ihren faszinierenden Videoinstallationen im Sturm einen Namen für sich gemacht. Während ihrer erfolgreichen Solo-Show in der Kunsthalle Zürich 1999 standen die Besucher bereits vor den Öffnungszeiten Schlange. 

002 Carlos Amorales

Unser nächster Gast in der Serie Memorable Memories für 25 Jahre Löwenbräu kommt aus Mexiko City. Sein Name: Carlos Amorales. Er performte den Devil Dance in der Daros Collection im 2006. Im Vorfeldzeigte er im Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst eine Performance, in welcher sein Alter Ego Wrestler einen künstlerischen Kampf Amorales vs. Amorales aufführte.

001 Olaf Breuning

Olaf Breuning ist unser erster Gast der Serie Memorable Memories, zum Gedenken des 25-jährigen Jubiläum von Löwenbräu.  

Breuning, welcher 2007 eine Solo Show im Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst hatte, lebt in Kerhonkson, im ländlichen Teil New Yorks.